lifestyle · parenting

How do I get my toddler to talk

After my baby passed his second birthday, I felt like coping with him is getting easier, and the communication is becoming much more two-way now.
Before this, he was always receiving, building up receptive vocabularies, storing whatever he sees and hears in his head. And then he started to react to everything around him. Like screaming for things he doesn’t like, or running towards me when he sees me coming, or throwing his toys when he’s angry, besides his own mispronunciation words that he was starting to use. But now he can say a few reasonable short sentences, he can shake head and nod, point to things he wants, grab what he needs ( if they are close), spend hours playing with his cars alone, and after all that was great!😍
So how do I get my toddler to talk.
  • First of all Talking
By talking to him, letting him hear the words. Explaining everything for him, trying to tell him the names of everything we pass through. Like “look at this horse” or “how beautiful this flower is” Sometimes I try to open what it looks like a one-sided conversation, when it seems that my toddler doesn’t have the slightest interest in. I really don’t know when is the best time to talk to him. Since he sees himself the controller now. He does what he wants when he wantsπŸ˜‰
But I keep talking to him. While we’re buying from the grocery, I enjoy showing him fruits and vegetables, and tell him their names. While we’re having our daily walk, we talk mostly about cars (because he adores cars, you know)
  • Secondly, Reading
I read for him, so many stories. Not just bedtime stories, but also stories I find interesting, with beautiful clear pictures. I also tell him stories of my own. I enjoy this part. He loves to hear the same story over and over again. Perhaps because he inherently recognize the value of repetition as a way of learning, or because he loves to be aware of what I’m reading, and interact with it ( to feel in charge, you knowπŸ˜‰)
reading stories.png
  • Third, Singing
I sing for him. I loved singing for him since he was a baby. A special song for bathtime, another for going out, and third for sleeping and one for eating. By the time, when I just start singing, he knows what should we do at once, Β and when he sings with me, it really melts my heart.

I felt that he likes music, and enjoys it, so we brought him (guitar, clarinet, and flute)Β children musical toys.

musical instuments.png
He cut the guitar strings,,haha

 

Β and then after a while a real harmonica!real Harmonica.png He liked them so much, he was playing with them a lot, when he’s not playing with his cars. I wanted him to enter the musical world. ( I always wished I could learn to play an instrument, but I didn’t have the chance!)
  • Label stuff.
Labeling things is the best thing to get my toddler knows names. The more his eyes fall on the written words, the more he will be able to recognize them, and by the time he will memorize them easier.
For example, the table, chair, closet, drawer, etc. in his room, in the kitchen, and also in his bathroom.

I brought him big colorful posters, about colors, animal’s names, etc.

  • Lend an ear.
My boy keeps talking to his cars, and I love that he can use both languages (English & Arabic), but mostly English. And I keep correcting his mispronunciations in a natural, friendly, nonjudgmental way, using an animated, supportive, conversational tone of voice, with interest. Like when he says “my cars is sleeping now” so I repeat “oh really, your cars are sleeping!” I try to show him so much interest in what he likes and to treat his toys very carefully. And when he wants to talk he always finds me listening.
  • Pay attention to what he’s saying.
When my child speaks in front of others, they all think that he’s speaking gibberish. But it looks to me so understandable (most of the time) through listening carefully, making eye contact, and trying to read his body language. That makes me act as interpreter in my toddler’s verbal exchanges with others.
Paying him attention made him enjoy talking to me, telling me what he’s thinking, what his cars are doingπŸ˜‰, and by talking and talking he’s getting better.
  • Asking questions
I keep asking him questions and let him answer, even when he’s incapable of supplying answers. I let him decide and choose to become independent. And that is one of the best ways to spur his language development.
I Answer him when he asks why.. Trying to explain everything for him, encourage him to talk, never rubbish his opinion. And I keep him next to me, engaged with me as much as I can*.
  • Repetition
I keep repeating every word, and trying to make them simple, distinct and audible, so that he can catch on to meanings and language mechanism, and eventually, to parrot back speech. like ” look at this flower” then ” the flower is beautiful” and ” this flower is pink” etc. and when he tries to say it in a comprehensible way, I make sure to be a cheerleader, and reinforce him positively with praise.

*When I had my baby I was still studying at university, so I was leaving him at my parent’s (or parent’s in law) house, and when I take him and go back home, he was always next to me, while studying, cleaning, cooking, watching TV. I wanted to spend the rest of my day with him, keep talking to him. And he was always looking at me, as he’s understanding what I’m saying! Oh, I’m so much in love with this boy😍
lana-02
18 thoughts on “How do I get my toddler to talk

  1. My son is starting to talk. We’ve had him in early intervention for a few months now because of an issue with motor planning. Fortunately, the deficit seems to be strictly speech, rather than a language issue…He understands EVERYTHING, and my husband and I periodically say we have to be careful about what we say around him… πŸ˜‰ Right now he is supposed to be putting two word sentences together. As of yesterday, he did so for the first time, “Mommy fork.” It took a minute for it to register…my husband thought he said “Mommy fuck,” which would have been a problem… πŸ™‚ But, /k/ and r-con sounds are tough for toddlers, so it was garbled. This morning he said, “Baby sleep,” so he’s getting there…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much! Reading your nice words meant so much to me! :*) Thank you for taking the time to read my post and type out all that.

      wow, It’s an exciting time for you now, that after months of babbling, he began to form recognizable words.

      At this age the toddlers be like Monkey-See-Monkey-Do. It’s a whole different stage of parenting. when our child now imitates everything that we do in public and in private, and what we say. While it’s 100 percent part of the learning process, and how they learn to interact with their environment. We as parents, need to be on best behavior, and be careful about what we say around them. At all times. Which is sort of exhausting, , haha πŸ˜‰

      Like

  2. this is great πŸ™‚ I babysit quite a bit and am going to be a nanny in the fall. It is so fun to watch them grow and learn! You know they are soaking it all in, even though they might not be verbalizing it yet. The light in their eyes, the way they stare at you… It’s such a joy! So fun to hear all the ways you are interacting with your little one!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for your nice words. Absolutely, watching them is a bundle of joy!
      hope you enjoy being nanny, and have great time with kids around, it’s the most honest bond ever πŸ™‚

      Like

  3. Your detailed account was an emotional one, one that brought tears to my eyes as well as fond memories that I had with my son when he was younger. I am glad I am blessed with another opportunity with my little princess. Children and their innocence can put a smile on the most stressful day! Njoy!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Absolutely sounds as if you covered all bases for teaching communication. I Love seeing and hearing of parents who inspire their children from birth and not just settle into the routine of changing diapers and turning the TV on for a built it babysitter. ( my opinion, everyone has one lol) My adorable grandson is now 5 but Dr.’s say he has a 7 yr old language skill. This is due to all of us being a team and starting at 6 months old bringing letters, numbers, and other methods into his life early is what they tell us. Looking forward to reading more soon.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for stopping by and an even bigger thank you for leaving a comment. I really do appreciate it when readers give me feedback.

      I appreciate your comment. The comments are such a great motivational tool to improve and work on for better. Thank u once again for taking out your valuable time to read my post.
      Much love!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. My mother has told me that I was not willing to talk as a baby despite her efforts. She was so desperate that she wanted to consult a doctor but finally I started to communicate without any problems. Nowadays, experience sharing in internet makes these problems easier, I suppose.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Indeed!! Reading shared experiences gives us a wider image about everything we need, or we’re looking for!! being able to find a helping answer or a motivating blog post or an inspiring photo online is Priceless!!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

