lifestyle · motherhood · parenting

5 ways to prepare your toddler to be an older sibling

Becoming an older sibling can be a huge transition for toddlers. To make the process a bit easier, you can start preparing before the new baby is even born.
When my little man was 3 and a half years old he became a big brother. We did as much as we could to prepare him before my little princess was born. It was so neat to watch his comprehension of what was going on increase, as we did what we could to get him ready to be a big brother. I’m sharing 5 of the ways we helped to prepare our little boy to be an older sibling before his sister was born.
.
.
.
1. Practice with Teddy Bear  – When my Little Man was around two years old we bought him teddy bear, he didn’t care much about it at the beginning, it was just laying down on his bed, and when he sleeps he usually throws it on the floor -he didn’t like anyone to share his bed. But when I became pregnant, I realized that he needed to learn words like “soft” and “gentle ” before she was born and we decided that teddy bear would be a great way to practice. He never played with him a lot, but it was really useful for him to learn how to be calm and gentle with one of his toys. We made a big deal about not throwing him and never being rough around him, and you can kiss him, & hug him when you sleep. It was a really great tool for his level of understanding at the time. ( he was about 3 years old)talal
.
.
2. Read Books about the Transition – This is one of the absolute best ways to prepare a toddler for what’s to come. We used several different books, so he was seeing and hearing about the transition from multiple angels. He loved the stories about the new baby. Some other books we enjoyed were: The new baby, Arthur and the baby: A classic Arthur Adventure I’m a big brother. Our absolute favorite book was Hello Baby by Lizzy Rockwell. Little Man finally understood that there was a baby in my belly.
.
.
.
.
3. Involve the toddler in the preparation – when my hubby and I got out of the clinic knowing it’s a girl, we were so excited! So we went shopping and we bought her so many stuff, clothes, and whatever she might need, and whatever I found nice.
-Since when I got pregnant with my first baby, I didn’t have the chance to buy anything! Everything I got for him were gifts from families and friends, and back then it was ok! After all , was busy with my studies, so I didn’t have time to go shopping, besides I didn’t know what stuff my baby and I were going to need! And both families were so eager to hear about their first ever grandchild, and wanted to afford everything for him, and so I let them be happy doing it-
 .
But now, I AM going to choose everything I need! I want to buy all the stuff for her, and so I did!
.
I tried to involve my Little Man in choosing her toys and stuff. We were talking a lot about the subject in front of him, and show him how much we are thrilled to see him growing up to be a gentle big brother! Asking him what does he think? What he wants to name her? Tell him how much she already loves him, etc.
2-with-logo
.
.
4. Sleepovers – my Little Man used to sleep over at his grandparent’s house, so that his first time wouldn’t be when I was in the hospital. He’s doing great and loves sleeping at their house. It was good to get him used to waking up and going to bed with them instead of only mommy. He loved every minute of it and it really helped put my mind at ease, knowing how well he would do sleeping away from home while I’m in the hospital with my newborn.
.
.
.
.
.
5. The Special Box – I prepared a little box of gifts for my Little Man and hid it in my closet to give it to him after giving birth, that his baby sister brought for him! The box included two things. The first item was I’m a big brother book, a coloring book and colors.
 The second item was stuffed toys of his beloved characters, like: Barney, Alex the lion, pink panther, and Winnie the Pooh.
.
.
It was wrapped for him, and he totally bought into the idea that those are from his sister! He loved it and felt so special❤
dsc00537-2-with-logo

21 thoughts on “5 ways to prepare your toddler to be an older sibling

  1. I love your ideas!
    I have three kids and had to prepare my first two for their new little brother. They were 6 and 4 at the time and were well prepared for their little brother’s arrival. I allowed them to even feel the movements and kicks which made them giggle!
    Thanks for writing this post😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time and reading my post! and a bigger thank you for leaving a comment 🙂
      I really would love to know, how did you prepare your kids for their little brother’s arrival?
      What was the ways that you used?
      and how did they accept it and reacted towards it?
      Although, we had done all of these steps to prepare my toddler, but still when he saw her for the first time, he was shocked! I don’t know what was the problem? any ideas??

      Like

  2. My son was two when his sister was born. We read a ton of books…he still likes reading them. He also loves helping and just being the best big brother he can be…most of the time. Now he is 2.7 years, and his sister is almost 8 months, and it is amazing seeing them together. They have started playing with each other. I’m pretty important to the Warrior Queen, but no one tops Little Man! She reserves the best smiles for him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh, my dear friend, thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and give me feedback. 🙂

      Ohhhh, how sweet.. That melt my heart..
      hope my boy will enjoy being a big brother, and being able to help me, that would be wonderful 🙂

      I would love to know what books you read for your little one? and how did you prepare him for the transition?
      As for my boy, after we had done all of these, still when he saw her for the first time he was shocked! any ideas??

      Like

  3. Great ideas! I had 7 years between my girls, and it’s funny that even though my oldest was seven she certainly needed prepared for the role after being an only child for so long. Being the oldest is the best! (I can say that, I am the oldest in my family!) 😉 Great post! Gonna give a follow!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you so much for taking the time to read my post and give me feedback. 🙂

      That’s right, kids -no matter how old they are- need to be prepared, especially when she’s been the only child for a whole 7 years! It’s definitely won’t be easy for her to accept the idea!!

      For my Little Man, after we had done all of these, still when he saw her for the first time he was shocked!!

      Like

  4. I love your post! There are no plans in the works for a second grandchild, and they’ll come in handy when Grandbaby #2 comes along (hopefully not to long from now)! And thanks for your beautiful comment on blog post. : )

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

